*************

In “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”, Holly Golightly seeks to find/create a place in the world that makes her feel the same fulfilled and happy way that Tiffany’s does. I have often found myself empathizing with her as I go grocery shopping. There is something about grocery shopping that feels so equalizing. All people need food. All people enjoy creating things. We’re all putting forth effort to feed ourselves and loved ones and help them become healthy and happy. Even though it’s not a particularly exciting place, I just love it.

After this weekend, I am making two additions to my list of places which I wish I could bottle up in a pill and take one daily for forever: aquariums, and rock climbing gyms. I got to do 2/3 yesterday (no grocery shopping) and I am still on a little high from it. Rock climbing is the perfect amount of challenging where I can complete enough routes to make it not frustrating, but there are plenty of difficult routes that I can’t complete, so that I’m never bored. There is always a next goal to achieve, even for highly experienced climbers. I also love the environment- I am convinced climbers are the nicest collective athletic group (they will cheer for you if you do the easiest route in the whole gym. I’ve never met a snobby climber). I know the college I am attending next fall will have a climbing gym, so I am praying its a nice one! If something makes me this happy, I really should prioritize it and do it more often. PLUS jumping off tall things is simply good, wholesome fun. I believe it is impossible to worry about school or work or anything while one is climbing up a wall.

Also, at the aquarium, I got to pet a whole freaking fever of stingrays!!! They are the most carefree, funny, beautiful little creatures in the world. I’d love to see them in the wild someday.

Ah, simple joys. Such a nice weekend.

Leave a Reply

